Students
Useful Contacts
Home| | |
Useful Contacts
Contacts    
QUICKLIST of most frequently Needed Services (below)
(Please note: area code for all numbers is 641)

Academic Advising:

  • For students who have declared majors: find your academic department advisor.
  • For students who have not declared majors: Arianna Walden, 472-1144 awalden@mum.edu
  • For Graduation requirements and degree check: contact Danella Lubar, 472-2205 dlubar@mum.edu or Arianna Walden, 472-1144 awalden@mum.edu (under Graduation Requirements and Degree Check.)
Academic Support:
Alcohol and Drug Use Concerns:
  • Contact Sascha Kyssa, Co-Associate Director of Student Support Services, cell: 641-919-2968; skyssa@mum.edu
  • Contact Leslie Doyle, Co-Associate Director of Student Support Services, cell: 641-919-7699; ldoyle@mum.edu
Calendar of Events:
  • See Student Activities Department below
  • Backup: Allie Taylor, 472-1225 (or ext. 1225); studentlife@mum.edu 
Campus Nurse:
  • Liza McClure, 472-7000 ext. 3411; 919-6904 (cell); nurse@mum.edu 
  • Vina Miller, back-up nurse
Career Advising:
Clubs:
  • Student liaison: Danny Hitchings, Student Body President: gsc@mum.edu
Deans of Students:
  • Dean of Student Life: Amellia Hesse, 472-7000 ext. 1327 (or from any campus phone; ext. 1327; amhesse@mum.edu
  • Associate Dean of Students: Manyu Hesse, 472-1190 (or ext. 1190); mhesse@mum.edu
Department of Student Life:
Development of Consciousness Department:
Disabilities Accommodation:
  • Paula Armstrong, Director of the Student Success Center, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); parmstrong@mum.edu
Email Broadcasts to Students:

Emergencies

  • Life Threatening Injury, Illness, or Loss of Consciousness
  • Dial 911 from any phone. Stay on the phone until you are sure that the ambulance service knows how to get to campus and locate buildings on campus. An ambulance should arrive within minutes. Then call Campus Security at ext. 1115 (641-472-1115).
  • Reporting Criminal Incidents                                                                                                                                                    
  • Promptly report the following qualifying incidents to 911 and then call the Campus Security officers, who are trained in police-reporting procedures: all actual or suspected criminal activity; violence or threats of violence—violence is defined as an non-consenting touching of another which results in physical or mental harm; acts or behaviors that appear to pose a risk of danger to you or to others. Reporting should be made by anyone who notices such activities - faculty, staff, or student. For questions as to whether a behavior is criminal or violent, call the University’s Legal Counsel (641-472-1175 or ext. 1175) after calling 911 and Security.
Enrollment Center Front Desk
Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Concerns:
Financial Aid
Food Service Concerns:
Student Government:
  • Student Body President: Danny Hitchings, gsc@mum.edu
  • Staff Advisor to Student Government: Amellia Hesse, 472-7000 ext. 1327 (or from any campus phone; ext. 1327; amhesse@mum.edu
Graduation Requirements and Degree Check:
Graduation Awards Ceremony:
Harassment:
  • Amellia Hesse, Dean of Student Life, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
  • Caterina Tomaselli, Title IX Coordinator, cell: 641-233-8033 croesler@mum.edu
  • or any member of the Department of Student Life
International Health Insurance
International Student Advising:
  • Nancy Watkins, Director, Office of International Students and Scholars, 472-1222 (or ext. 1222); nwatkins@mum.edu
  • Diana Rivera, Associate Director, Office of International Students and Scholars, 472-7000 ext. 4811, drivera@mum.edu
  • Lijuan Cai, Director of Asian Student Life, 472-7000 ext. 4005; lcai@mum.edu
Internships:
  • Sheila Swanson, Director of Career Services, 472-1229 ext 1229 (office), sswanson@mum.edu
Off-Campus Housing Petitions:
Orientation:
Posters:
  • Contact Allie Taylor, Student Life Administrator, 641-472-1225 (*1225) studentlife@mum.edu
Residential Life: Housing Department, 472-1126 (or ext. 1126), housing@mum.edu
  • If urgent (e.g., no heat in dorm room; or hazard): Security, 472-1115 (or ext. 1115)
Custodial and Facilities Management Issues:
  • Students report issues to mum.edu/fixit. If no timely reply, go to RA and then RD. If RA and then RD cannot resolve, contact Selin Ozbudak.
Sexual Harassment (other than sexual violence):
  • Amellia Hesse, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
  •  Caterina Tomaselli, Title IX Coordinator, cell: 641-233-8033 croesler@mum.edu
  • or any member of the Department of Student Life
Sexual Violence:
  • Call 911 and:
  • Campus Security at 472-1115 or campus ext. 1115 and: 
  • Caterina Roesler, Sexual Assault Response and Prevention Coordinator, (641) 472-7000 ext 2241; croesler@mum.edu
Smoking Cessation:
  • See Campus Nurse above

Student Accounts

Student Activities:
Student Conduct, Concerns About:
Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
Student Government:
  • Student Body President: Danny Hitchings gsc@mum.edu
  • Adviser to Student Government: Amellia Hesse 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu 
Student Handbook:
Student Health (Physical, Mental, and Emotional):
  • Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
  • Physical Health: See Campus Nurse above
  • Mental and Emotional Health:
    • Contact Sascha Kyssa, Co-Associate Director of Student Support Services, cell: 641-919-2968; skyssa@mum.edu
    • Contact Leslie Doyle, Co-Associate Director of Student Support Services, cell: 641-919-7699; ldoyle@mum.edu
Student Safety:
  • Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
  • Campus Safety Director: Rig Gelfand & Beata Nacsa 472-1117
  • Campus Security: 472-1115 or MUM ext. 1115
Student Spaces:
  • Classroom spaces: Arla Rabalais, 472-7000 ext 4132, arabalais@mum.edu
  • Residence hall spaces: Selin Ozbudak, 472-7000 ext. 4804; sozbudak@mum.edu
  • Arts Center Theater: Todd McNeely, 472-7000 ext 3318, mc@mum.edu
  • All other spaces: Contact Student Activities above
Student Success Center:
Student Support Services (Counseling):
  • Contact Sascha Kyssa, Co-Associate Director of Student Support Services, cell: 641-919-2968; skyssa@mum.edu
  • Contact Leslie Doyle, Co-Associate Director of Student Support Services, cell: 641-919-7699; ldoyle@mum.edu
Students with Children:
TM Checking:
  • See Development of Consciousness Department above
TM Courses for Students:
  • See Development of Consciousness Department above

Transcript Requests

 Vastu Housing Applications:
Visas:
Website:
Workstudy:
search login