Students
Useful Contacts
Home| | |
Useful Contacts
Student Service Departments
Calendars and Events
Campus Services Links
Academics
Getting Help
Useful Contacts
Get advice - Quicklist
Academic Advice
Academic Support
Career Center
Personal issues
International Students
Learning Disability Support
Off-Campus Students
Understanding Mental Illness and Treatment
ULifeline
Contacts    
QUICKLIST of most frequently Needed Services (below)
(Please note: area code for all numbers is 641)

Academic Advising:

  • For students who have declared majors: find your academic department advisor.
  • For students who have not declared majors: Arianna Walden, 472-1144 awalden@mum.edu
  • For Graduation requirements and degree check: contact Danella Lubar, 472-2205 dlubar@mum.edu or Arianna Walden, 472-1144 awalden@mum.edu (under Graduation Requirements and Degree Check.)
Academic Support:
  • Sheila Swanson, Director Student Success Center, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
Alcohol and Drug Use Concerns:
  • Contact Dr. Jonathan Shapiro, Director of Student Support Services, 472-1241 (or ext. 1241); jshapiro@mum.edu EMERGENCIES: 233-8105
Calendar of Events:
  • See Student Activities Department below
  • Backup: Mengyuan (Angela) Wang, 472-1225 (or ext. 1225); mwang@mum.edu 
Campus Nurse:
  • Deidre Lentz, 472-7000 ext. 3411; 919-6904 (cell); dlentz@mum.edu
  • Brenda Hellweg, back-up nurse
Career Advising:
  • Jan Sickler, Director of Career Services, 472-1151 (office); 919-7327 (cell); jsickler@mum.edu
Clubs:
  • Student liaison: Alexandra Pomeroy, Student Body President: gsc@mum.edu
  • Department of Student Life liaison: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mum.edu
Deans of Students:
  • Dean of Student Life: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mum.edu
  • Associate Dean of Student Life: Sheila Swanson, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
  • Associate Dean of Students: Amellia Hesse, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); (641) 451-7417 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
  • Associate Dean of Students: Alwin Hesse, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); (641) 233-8198 (cell); ahesse@mum.edu
Department of Student Life:
  • Administrator: Mengyuan (Wang), 472-1225 (or ext. 1225); mwang@mum.edu 
Development of Consciousness Department:
Disabilities Accommodation:
  • Sheila Swanson, Director Student Success Center, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
Email Broadcasts to Students:

​Emergencies

  • Life Threatening Injury, Illness, or Loss of Consciousness
    Dial 911 from any phone. Stay on the phone until you are sure that the ambulance service knows how to get to campus and locate buildings on campus. An ambulance should arrive within minutes. Then call Campus Security at ext. 1115 (641-472-1115).
  • Reporting Criminal Incidents                                                                                                                                                    
  •  Promptly report the following qualifying incidents to 911 and then call the Campus Security officers, who are trained in police-reporting procedures: all actual or suspected criminal activity; violence or threats of violence—violence is defined as an non-consenting touching of another which results in physical or mental harm; acts or behaviors that appear to pose a risk of danger to you or to others. Reporting should be made by anyone who notices such activities - faculty, staff, or student. For questions as to whether a behavior is criminal or violent, call the University’s Legal Counsel (641-472-1175 or ext. 1175) after calling 911 and Security.
        
Enrollment Center Front Desk
Equal Opportunity and Discrimination Concerns:
Financial Aid
Food Service Concerns:
  •  Amellia Hesse, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); (641) 451-7417 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu (Amellia is the Dean of Students)
Global Student Council:
  • Student Body President: Alexandra Pomeroy, gsc@mum.edu
  • Department of Student Life liaison: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mchsi.com
Graduation Requirements and Degree Check:
  • Mary King, Graduation Advisor, 472-7000 ext 2205, mking@mum.edu
Graduation Awards Ceremony:
  • Mengyuan(Angela) Wang, 472-1225 (or ext. 1225); mwang@mum.edu 
     
Harassment:
  • Amellia Hesse, Associate Dean of Student Life, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
     
  • Alwin Hesse, Associate Dean of Students, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); 233-8198 (cell), ahesse@mum.edu
    ; or any member of the Department of Student Life
International Health Insurance
International Student Advising:
  • Nancy Watkins, Director, Office of International Students and Scholars, 472-1222 (or ext. 1222); nwatkins@mum.edu
  • Diana Rivera, Associate Director, Office of International Students and Scholars, 472-7000 ext. 4811, drivera@mum.edu
  • Lijuan Cai, Director of Asian Student Life, 472-7000 ext. 4005; lcai@mum.edu
Internships:
  • Academic department internship coordinator and/or Jan Sickler, Director of Career Services, 472-1151 (office), jsickler@mum.edu
Off-Campus Housing Petitions:
  • Amellia Hesse, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
  • Alwin Hesse, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); 233-8198 (cell), ahesse@mum.edu

Orientation:
  • Sheila Swanson, Director Student Success Center, 472-1229 (or ext. 1229); sswanson@mum.edu
Peer Mentoring:
Posters:
  • Contact Student Activities below
Residential Life: Housing Department, 472-1126 (or ext. 1126), housing@mum.edu
  • If urgent (e.g., no heat in dorm room; or hazard): Security, 472-1115 (or ext. 1115)
Custodial and Facilities Management Issues:
  • Students report issues to mum.edu/fixit. If no timely reply, go to RA and then RD. If RA and then RD cannot resolve, contact Selin Ozbudak.
Sexual Harassment (other than sexual violence):
  • Amellia Hesse, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
  • Alwin Hesse, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); 233-8198 (cell), ahesse@mum.edu
  • or any member of the Department of Student Life
Sexual Violence:
  • Call 911 and:
  • Campus Security at 472-1115 or campus extension 1115 and: 
  • and Caterina Roesler, Sexual Assault Response and Prevention Coordinator, (641) 472-7000 ext 2241; croesler@mum.edu
Smoking Cessation:
  • See Campus Nurse above

Student Accounts

Student Activities:
Student Conduct, Concerns About:
Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
  • Alwin Hesse, 470-1384 (or ext. 1384); 233-8198 (cell), ahesse@mum.edu
  • Amellia Hesse, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
Student Government:
  • Student Body President: Alexandra Pomeroy, gsc@mum.edu
  • Department of Student Life liaison: Rod Eason, 472-1204 (or ext. 1204); reason@mum.edu
Student Handbook:
  • Mengyuan(Angela) Wang, 472-1225 (or ext. 1225); mwang@mum.edu 
Student Health (Physical, Mental, and Emotional):
  • Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
  • Physical Health: See Campus Nurse above
  • Mental and Emotional Health: Dr. Jonathan Shapiro, Director, 472-1241 (or ext. 1241); 233-8105 (cell); jshapiro@mum.edu
Student Safety:
  • Emergencies: See “Emergencies” above
  • Campus Safety Director: Chris Taft, 472-1115
  • Campus Security: 472-1115 or MUM ext. 1115
Student Spaces:
  • Classroom spaces: Arla Rabalais, 472-7000 ext 4132, arabalais@mum.edu
  • Residence hall spaces: Selin Ozbudak, 472-7000 ext. 4804; sozbudak@mum.edu
  • Arts Center Theater: Noah Buntain, 472-7000 ext 5031, mc@mum.edu
  • All other spaces: Contact Student Activities above
Student Success Center:
Student Support Services (Counseling):
  • Dr. Jonathan Shapiro, Director, 472-1241 (or ext. 1241); jshapiro@mum.edu EMERGENCIES: 641-233-8105
Students with Children:
  • Amellia Hesse, 470-1327 (or ext. 1327); 451-7471 (cell); amhesse@mum.edu
TM Checking:
  • See Development of Consciousness Department above
TM Courses for Students:
  • See Development of Consciousness Department above

Transcript Requests

Vastu Housing Applications:
Visas:
Website:
  • Department of Student Life web pages: mengyuan (Angela) Wang 472-1225 (or ext. 1225); mwang@mum.edu 
  • MUM website: Jeff Whitten, ext 4827, jwhitten@mum.edu
Workstudy:
search login